Build a mailing list? Want to blog for a living? Then you're gonna need some content. Find out where to get it and the best way to use it here.

What do I start writing about? Help please!

ladykwak
Trust:

What do I start writing about? Help please!

I have decided on my website and decided to leave hubby's alone for now. I have decided to do weight loss/self improvement since that is where I am an expert in knowledge. I am just not sure where to start or what to write about. I can make the website a journey with me for weight loss and self improvement and ask others to join me. I know what I want but not sure how to even start. I think I am thinking to hard. I am a perfectionist by heart and I think it is getting in my way. Can someone direct me. If I havens said thanks for the help on hubby's website then thank you.

sue
PremiumMember
chatyak86
Trust:
Hi Sue,

Well you have certainly chosen a profitable market :D

I would suggest your first thing to do is to gather up a bunch of keywords that you are going to write your articles on. Use a tool like http://freekeywords.wordtracker.com to search for words related to weight loss. These will be the title/headings of each of your pages.

I would suggest keywords that are 3 - 4 words long.... if this is your first site, I would not attempt to try and rank for the word "weight loss"... it will be too much of a headache for you... instead target words like "weight loss plans and products" etc... you get the idea.

Create a flowchart for yourself and map out a "tree diagram" of how your site will look. Certain topics in certain folders etc....

After this... start writing your articles based around the keywords you chose.

This is enough for now... it will take you a while to do it :)
PremiumMember
sean06
Trust:
Yep, listen to Adrian.

I like the idea of getting like minded people to join you. It's a great chance for you to recommend some products etc.