Build a mailing list? Want to blog for a living? Then you're gonna need some content. Find out where to get it and the best way to use it here.

Article Writing: Paragraphs

faradina
Trust:

Article Writing: Paragraphs

This is again for newbie article writers :)

To have effective articles, we must have effective paragraphs. I have seen more than just a few really bad paragraphs all over the internet, as well as articles which had no paragraphs, or rather had just one paragraph with everything running together. So I thought I'd post something about constructing effective paragraphs. Nothing high-level as I am not really a composition professor or anything like that :)

A paragraph should be composed of sentences that develop one main idea. It must have a topic sentence that states the main idea and supporting sentences which explain, prove, illustrate, or add details to the main idea. Any sentence that does not develop the main idea should be taken out, to give your paragraph strength and purpose.

There are paragraphs which have only 1 to 4 sentences and there are those which can have up to 15 sentences. In writing web content, it is well to remember that shorter paragraphs are best, and this is because having a solid great wall of unbroken text on your web page could potentially cause a site visitor to click away from it. Long paragraphs, after all, are not very easy to read.

To avoid having paragraphs that are too long, break down your ideas into subtopics, or even sub-subtopics. That way, you need only a few sentences to express them fully. This also makes the paragraph easier to read and understand, which in turn makes your whole article easier to read and understand.
Site Admin
michellerana
Trust: