Need a new web host or having a problem with a script? Tips and advice on the best way to design, build and maintain your most valuable asset - your website!

What web hosting package do I need?

lisasolis21
Trust:

What web hosting package do I need?

I am new to all this so i have a few questions.I went to Bluehost and got the middle package which was 7.95 a month that has 10 websites,150gb webspace, unmetered bandwidth, standard performance, 1 domain, 20 parked, 50 sub domains, 150 emails with 500mb per email accts., $100.00 marketing offers, global CDN, and 1 spam expert and then some other thing offered was 1 yr of constant contact, domain privacy, site backup pro, search engine jumpstart, and site lock security all for around 230.00 before taxes. My question is Do I need all this? is there a cheaper route? Or do I need even more to buy?
Sorry for all the questions, but I'm lost. Thank you for your advice
Site Admin
aletta
Trust:
Yeah you really don't need all this, especially when you're just starting out.

I recommend you find some nice, cheap, shared hosting and see how you go with one website first. Eg, you could get the cheapest plan from Bluehost for $3.95/month (1 site). I have a couple of sites hosted with Namecheap's cheapest hosting plan, which is just under $40/year (and allows me up to three sites).

It's not TOO difficult to move hosts once you get up and running, so if you decide that you really do need that whole host of features later on... just move hosts. Your new host can probably even help you move.

You definitely don't need to spend $230/year. Holy smokes.
Are your changes not showing up on your website? Try doing a hard refresh! http://www.refreshyourcache.com/en/cache/

endy daniyanto
Trust:
Hi Lisa, what Aletta says is correct.

I remember the first time I bought a domain from GoDaddy and they had all these extra offers that made me confused. I ended up buying some additions that weren't necessary at all.