Need a new web host or having a problem with a script? Tips and advice on the best way to design, build and maintain your most valuable asset - your website!

Looking for some help with website design ideas

emmittryan
Trust:

Looking for some help with website design ideas

Hello everyone. First off, my name is Shane, and I have a website name, and a hosting service, and lots of other stuff, but I don't know what is a good way to start off. I have an ebay account, and I would like to sell ebooks and I have a salehoo account, and I would like to sell chinese merchandise. I have a shopping cart (cubecart) proprietary service on my hosting account. I have a homepage but it sucks, because I am in a rut? i think. I have dreamweaver, so I can make a stab at design, and I am going to college for computer science, so I am not totally foreign to a computer. I just need to get a site going, and I need to make it a professional one, what to do first? I am not good at organization so if someone has the plan to get this ball rolling, let's talk. What is the quickest way to find that spark of inspiration(money) that keeps you building onward? All replies are greatly appreciated. Shane.
PremiumMember
chatyak86
Trust:
Hi Shane,

Welcome to Affilorama. Have you followed the tutorial videos on setting up a website? Do you know any HTML or basic things such as that? That should be enough to at least get you started. I see you want to do a lot of things off the bat here which is a good motivation to keep. Although I strongly recommend focusing your efforts into just one area, otherwise you are going to find yourself becoming frustrated with three different ideas and sites and not one of them performing. Once your first idea is up and underway, then slowly start to work on the next two.