Struggling with Adwords or Yahoo Advertising? Find and discuss ways to improve your CPC, ROI or conversion rate. Get advice and share ideas on ad copy.

Why should we target specific regions with our ad campaigns?

satok
Trust:

Why should we target specific regions with our ad campaigns?

Hi everyone of this wonderful Affilorama community! My name is Nizam and I'm a newbie in this business. Studying lessons at the moment but still have a question in my head bothering me.
I got impression that in order to promote some products we as affiliate marketers should target specific regions (US and Canada or Australia, New Zealand and UK and so on). Why? Isn't it possible to place our ads (sites) so that all visitors from all countries of the Globe could see them? How come that in this case I was able to find you, Mark? Of course, you didn't target my country (Uzbekistan, part of the former Soviet Union) specifically and nevertheless I browsed the Web and through LegitOnlineJobs.com found you (luckily!)?

Your answers and comments would be highly appreciated! Thanks in advance!
Site Admin
markling
Trust:
Hi Satok,

Welcome to affilorama!

To answer your question, I am only referring to pay per click advertising. Of course if you have a website that is online, that will be available to anyone in the world.

However if you are spending money on google adwords, overture, etc, then you need to be careful about which countries you spend your money on because some countries turn out to be less profitable than others.

For instance, for many markets when I promote on various search terms, such as "learn guitar", I lose money. The phillipines I have gotten over 4000 clicks on "learn guitar" and 0 sales. Yet for the english speaking countries, plus about 15 others, I found I double the money I spend on pay per click.