Looking for ideas or need advice in a new market? Keyword research, market competition, size of the market - can all be discussed here.

Should I choose a broad or specific domain name for my site?

craigmattice
Trust:

Should I choose a broad or specific domain name for my site?

I'm learning and experiencing a great deal from applying the training of Affilorama. This positive experience is not at all what I expected out of ignorance and misperception.

I have selected a niche which includes two major subniches. I like this niche, it helps people and provides solutions, and I have been a long time student. My question, select a domain name which will represent the overall website goals, problem solving content, which include the subniches; or, select a domain specific to each subniche creating separate website projects? I really feel most excited about the overall domain name which allows me to expand with additional subniches in the future. Am I looking to broad?

I have identified over 20 longtail keywords/phrases. I determined these by using the Google Keyword Search Tool for search score, calculating hits per day, and Google Search and SEO evaluation for "allintitle" competing pages less than 30K.

I know this sounds very rudimentary to many of the members. This is a new experience, I'm following the instructions and doing the actions to learn and apply my new knowledge. Honestly? I'm not even concerned about screwing up because it's all good in the long run.

What is your experience so far? What insight are you willing to share? I'm open and willing.

Thank you for reading.

Craig
"Make it a great day to remember!"
Last edited by michellerana on 09 Mar 10 4:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: improve title to describe the post better

Craig
www.aboutcraigmattice.com

jonpastorizo
Trust:
Craig,